New Signing: The Once

 Listen To The Once’s “We Are All Running” from Departures:

Nettwerk is pleased to announce the signing of folk trio The Once to its label roster. The Newfoundland-based band has been quietly making a name for themselves in their native Canada, having collected a trio of Canadian Folk Music Awards, been named Newfoundland & Labrador Art Council’s Artist of the Year and earned a Juno nomination for best Roots/Traditional album. In the coming year, however, the rest of the world will get to discover the joyous, harmony-rich acoustic music that have made them such favorites in their homeland.

On August 5, 2014, the trio (Geraldine Hollett, Andrew Dale and Phil Churchill) will release their new album Departures, just a few days after embarking on a world tour opening for label-mate Passenger, which begins in North America on August 2nd before hitting Europe, Australia and Asia.

The Once is rooted in its essential musical elements – lead vocalist Hollett’s incandescent voice, the trio’s gorgeous harmonies and the spirited acoustic instrumentation supplied by Dale and Churchill. Hollett, who the Toronto Globe and Mail hailed as a “pure-voiced starlet,” is a captivating, compassionate singer who has brought comparisons to such iconic Americana stylists as Alison Krauss, Gillian Welch and Emmylou Harris. Dale and Churchill, both talented and versatile players, utilize guitars, mandolins, banjos and even a bouzouki to build a rich musical tapestry.

The Once’s story began five years ago, when the band released their 2009 self-titled, award-winning debut, which was funded by a stranger at a show who was so impressed that he offered them $5,000 to make the album. It was released by the Canadian label Borealis Records, as was its follow-up Row Upon Row Of The People They Know, for which they received the Juno nomination. The band self-released a Christmas CD in 2012 and still had that independent spirit when they started this new album. They caught the attention Nettwerk CEO Terry McBride at the Vancouver CelticFest, who offered them a label deal shortly after.

The Once are the latest addition to the Nettwerk label roster, which also includes Passenger, Sinead O’Connor, Boy & Bear, Frazey Ford, The Paper Kites, Run River North, Madi Diaz and many more.

North American Tour Dates (w/ Passenger and Stu Larsen)
Sat, Aug 2 Atlanta, GA @ Buckhead Theatre (sold-out)
Sun, Aug 3 Nashville, TN @ Marathon Music Works
Tue, Aug 5 Charlotte, NC @ Amos’ Southend
Wed, Aug 6 Washington, DC @ Echostage
Fri, Aug 8 Philadelphia, PA @ Electric Factory
Wed, Aug 13 Boston, MA @ House of Blues (sold-out)
Thur, Aug 14 Montreal, QC @ Metropolis (sold-out)
Sat, Aug 16 Toronto, ON @ The Sound Academy (sold-out)
Sun, Aug 17 Detroit, MI @ St. Andrew Hall
Tue, Aug 19 Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall
Wed, Aug 20 Indianapolis, IN @ Deluxe @ Old National Center (sold-out)
Fri, Aug 22 Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre
Sun, Aug 24 Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Sat, Aug 30 Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Waller Creek Amphitheater
Sun, Aug 31 Dallas, TX @ House of Blues (sold-out)
Wed, Sept 3 Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre (sold-out)
Sat, Sept 6 Seattle, WA @ Showbox SoDo
Sun, Sept 7 Vancouver, BC @ Malkin Bowl (sold-out)
Tue, Sept 9 Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Thur, Sept 11 Oakland, CA @ Fox Theatre
Sat, Sept 13 Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern (sold out)
Sun, Sept 14 San Diego, CA @ House of Blues (sold out)

Press contact: 

Danielle Romeo | romeo@nettwerk.com